New Passions

It’s been a while – I think like 3 weeks since my last post.  Honestly, I think it is because as soon as I committed myself to that raw food challenge I lost inspiration and energy for it all.  It’s quite strange, I sort of let go of my expectations and the idea of disciplining myself into doing something that I don’t really want to do and honestly, I feel good.

Why?  I think it is because I am incorporating MUCH more wild greens into my diet. So, here is my new challenge to myself.  One that I came up with for myself, NOT one that someone else started and I just kind of jumped on board with.

With this challenge, I am not going to be 100% raw.  Mainly because some wild edibles really need to be cooked first.  I could limit myself to those that don’t need cooking, but I am trying to really open myself to the possibilities of this and get to know as many plants as possible growing in my area.

Today, so far I have had a delicious green juice with apples, pears, lemons, cucumber and nettle

For lunch, on the menu is acedera with potato and beet. (clearly not a raw dish)

Acedera is a group of plants that used to be eaten traditionally in the Madrid area.  They are all in the Rumex or dock family  The particular one that we are eating today is called Rumex pulcher and locally referred to as romanza. In English, it is called Fiddle dock

It is honestly not exceptionally great eating as it has a high oxalic acid, but in small doses is absolutely fine.  It is still much better to eat it cooked, although it does not need to be cooked in various changes of water like some wild plants. It grows in abundance here, so we thought we would give it a go.

Rumex Pulcher- image from wikipedia

Leave a Reply

