Weekend Eats! (not cake)

I realized last week that pregnant or not, I’m not feeling awesome in my body right now.  I know that a lot of this comes from what is a normal and pregnancy related, like feeling bloated, heavy and gassy.  But I can’t help thinking that it is exacerbated by what I am eating- for example the Malai Kofta I had at the local Indian restaurant last Thursday.  So I decided I was going to lighten it up a little and this week it has been pretty much effortless to eat raw.

First, I made some crazy good raw Malai Kofta.  After having the cooked version I decided I wanted to finally try a raw version. You really should try it.  My husband was slightly incredulous at first but ended up thinking it was delicious!

The recipe is here:

http://roshis.com/malai-kofta/

I also made a bomb ass sundried tomato pesto that I had on top of zucchini noodles with some pine nut/cashew cheese.  That was a super easy and gourmet tasting meal. If you want to try it, it went something like this:

1/2 cup soaked sundried tomato

small handful of pine nuts

3 tbsp. olive oil

a few leaves of fresh basil

salt and pepper to taste

Put everything into the food processor and mix until you have a smooth consistency.  You can always add a little of the sundried tomato soak water if you need to get things going.

Other than that, I have been having salads, green juices and smoothies and lots of fruit.

Leave a Reply

