The Seven Alchemical Healers

I can only imagine that if you are reading this, then you have at least a fleeting interest in health and wellness.  Although my path to those ideals has been, and still is, full of detours, mistakes and a dash of apathy, I am getting there. Slowly but surely, and picking up more and more information and experience along the way.  To me, than is more important than any number on the scales.

I know that I tend to focus entirely too much on food.  I think to myself, if I can just eat raw food, if I can just eat clean for x amount of time then I will be healthy.  While what we put into our mouths is absolutely important, it isn’t everything and quite often I need to be reminded of that.  

I had the pleasure and privilege of doing a short certification course with Dr. Gabriel Cousens last November, and while I know that the seeming austerity of a low-glycemic diet isn’t for everyone, I have no doubt in my mind that for optimal healing that man knows what he is doing.

In his book, Spiritual Nutrition, he talks about the Seven Alchemical Healers.  They are the foundations to a healthy and balanced life and I would like to share them with you.

  1. Fresh air– This can include breathing exercises (pranayama), or simply exposing as much of our bodies as possible to pure, fresh air (air baths)
  2. Pure Water-It is becoming more and more difficult for many people on this earth to find truly pure water and there are seemingly endless opinions on what type of water is best.  I recommend spring water if you have access to it http://www.findaspring.com/  Otherwise, do a bit of research and buy the best quality filter you can afford.  
  3. Sunlight- Dr. Cousens recommends a minimum of 30-60 minutes a day either in the early morning or late afternoon.  This is essential for Vitamin D in the body, but be aware that the further you are from the equator, the more you will need.  Here in Spain, 30 minutes would probably be enough to get away with not supplementing but if you live in England, you would need much, much more.
  4. Exercise– This means more than just a leisurely stroll around the block or a relaxing yoga class.  It means reaching between 50-80% of your capacity.  That surely involves sweat! 
  5. Rest– Generally, this means finding a quiet spot in nature and/or meditation.  However, for sedentary or intellectually active types of people, this means activities like gardening, hiking, game playing, and periods of silence.
  6. Right Diet– This can mean many different things to different people.  A clean, whole-food and plant-based diet is without doubt optimal.
  7. Mental, Emotional and Spiritual Peace- Although this is quite broad, it generally means living in right relationship.  Are you living in a way that aligns your deepest self with your current reality?  If not, then peace cannot be found.

I know that I can personally benefit from making sure to include each of these in my daily life and I challenge myself to do so!  What about you?  What do you currently do and what could you improve?

Image

image from http://www.rickrichards.com/chakras/chakra_man1.jpg

Leave a Reply

