Fudgy Gluten-Free Cookies and the river!

I haven’t updated in a while.  To be honest, physically I have been *exhausted* and my meals have been super simple.  I’ve been eating tons of watermelon ( I really do mean it.  I ate a 6 kilo watermelon in 2 days recently!), gluten-free pizzas, homegrown sunflower sprouts, tahini+stevia+carob on rice cakes, raw fruit sorbets, etc.  Things that are quick, easy and tasty are what I am about now.  There are so many recipes that I want to try out and I would love to spend hours in the kitchen doing it but my body is rebelling against that.  I suppose that with less than two weeks until the baby comes, I need to rest when I need to rest and that is that!

I did, however, whip up these super easy, super delicious and (in my book) super healthy cookies from Sketch Free Eating.  These cookies are the bomb!  They are filled with high quality ingredients like buckwheat flour, chickpea flour, honey tahini and flax. And the recipe is so versatile!  For example, the recipe calls for honey but I wanted my husband to be able to enjoy them as well,  so I substituted the same amount of xylitol and added some quinoa milk I had on hand to thin out the batter a bit.  I also love the fact that with the chickpea flour, they are quite high in protein.

Find the recipe at the website: Fudgy Socca Carob Cookies.

Last weekend, we went out to the river again and had a lovely day.  We went to a more remote part, which meant that we had the entire place to ourselves!  The pools weren’t quite as deep as the more popular (i.e. filled to the brim) spots, but they were more than sufficient to totally immerse yourself in the cold, clear water!

Image

I basically spent the whole day laying in this!  I only got out to have a beautiful lunch of some tortilla de patata, gazpacho and pimientos de padrón.  All made by a friend who must love me very much 🙂

Image

me getting my Vitamin D!

I hope your week has been great so far!  I am looking forward to a lazy afternoon and a ginormous salad!

Leave a Reply

