Vegan Eats in Shreveport

I am currently residing in my hometown of Shreveport, Louisiana, also known as the 5th saddest city in America according to twitter.  Let me just say that I am not surprised by that at all.  Living here certainly makes me sad for a myriad of reasons, not the least of which being that I previously lived in a city of around 6 million extremely diverse inhabitants.

Although it has not always been the case, Shreveport no longer has a dedicated vegetarian eatery.  For a city of 250,000, I find this mind-boggling.  In terms of where I spend my money, this is what I generally do:

Vitamins Plus for snacks like GT’s Kombucha and Earth Café raw pie.  They have really done a great job with stocking a wide variety of raw and vegan products, but I do wish the staff were a bit more knowledgeable about things (for example, the difference between a tincture and Bach Flower essences).

Sunshine Health Food Store.  I feel like I have to mention them because they are a Shreveport institution.  Store-wise they have a solid inventory and even have a little raw section but the café for me is a fail.  Vegan option- avocado sandwich. And sometimes they are out of avocados.  Thanks, i’ll just make that at home with some gluten-free bread and homemade sauerkraut of awesomeness.

India´s for me is the best Indian joint in town.  They are clued up as to what vegan means and the food is just good.  Generally the standard Indian restaurant cuisine, but well done and abundant.  For vegetarians, the Tandoori Paneer is an interesting option.

Dahn´s Garden does a mean Pad Thai with tofu.  If you like spicy, the Lemongrass Tofu is super  tasty but leaves me sweating.  They’ll also do a Tom Kha or Tom Yum soup with tofu for you.  I love this place and eat here often.

Albasha has seriously good Lebanese/Greek food.  Dolmas, hummus, veggie moussaka, falafel, etc.  They even do a vegetarian plate where you choose 5 vegetarian items out of about 9.  Again, the standard Greek restaurant fare but well done and tasty.

Another Broken Egg Cafe is awesome for vegetarians and gluten-free eaters and decent for vegans.  The Black Bean Sliders on gluten-free bread is tasty,  and the staff are knowledgeable about special diets.  I love going here for brunch with my family during the weekend.

That’s all I got for now!  You know, although there really isn’t a whole lot out there for a gluten-free vegan with a penchant for raw in Shreveport it has meant that I have to get more creative in the kitchen.  That is never a bad thing and it means that I have a backlog of things to share with you!

Do you live in a cultural backwater?  What is your favorite place to eat?

5 thoughts on “Vegan Eats in Shreveport

    • There are! I love Healthy Chef! I bought some food from them today at the Farmer’s Market actually. It has been a while since I posted this and have learned about them since. Guess it is time for an update! Thanks for calling me out 🙂

  1. Hi, would love to know more as we are visiting family in Shreveport this summer and it looks like Whole Foods will still not be open 😦

    I found a link to a Farmer’s Market called simply Shreveport Farmer’s Market. Is that the market you are referring to where I could possibly find Healthy Chef and maybe even GoGreenly as well?

Leave a Reply

