Week of Raw

I am so proud of myself this week! I have managed for the first time in a long time to eat mostly raw! Sounds crazy for a raw food business owner, right??! But I have to be real, open and honest 🙂 I reached a point where I just felt physically bad again because here in the States, unhealthy food really is ubiquitous- it is the status quo without a doubt. The amount of planning, research and willpower that has to go into maintaining a truly healthy diet ( raw or not ) is mindboggling. Which is why I do what I do!! If I can help someone eat a little better and feel a little better by offering high quality raw snacks and food then I have done my job 🙂
And the truth is, a week in- I feel amazing!! I’ve had lots of green juices, including this one with broccoli stalk, parsley stems, green apple and lime

20130906-160223.jpg
Raw soups, like this carrot, cashew, and Ras-al-Hanout spiced one

20130906-160347.jpg
This smoothie with mango, banana and spinach is pretty much like the very first green smoothie I ever had so many years ago!

20130906-160514.jpg
And I have been LOVING having different variations if Kate Magic’s Purple Mayhem for breakfast.

20130906-160627.jpg
The basic recipe is this:
2 tbsp. mesquite powder
2 tbsp. cacao powder
1 tsp. purple corn extract
Mix in bowl, then add
1 tbsp. tahini
1 tbsp. coconut nectar
1 tbsp. water
Then stir in
1 cup sprouted buckwheaties

I love trying out new variations on this and if always keeps me satisfied and energized for hours!! Also, breakfast has always been one of the most challenging meals to keep interesting while doing raw because I never, ever want a smoothie first thing in the morning.

Hope you try it and enjoy it! Much love.

2 thoughts on “Week of Raw

  1. I tried juicing a brocolli stalk once and it made me feel really sick! The smell really got to me. I love brocolli but after that I was a bit squeamish with it for a while. Did mixing it with the other stuff mask the flavour? Or are you just braver than me?!

    • Honestly, I think the other flavors really masked it. I haven’t tried the broccoli stalk before but I have tried other cruciferous veg and not been able to drink it. This one tasted really really good!!

Leave a Reply

